NBA Finals

The NBA Finals is the annual championship series of the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Eastern and Western conference winners play with a best-of-seven game series to ascertain the league champion. The champions of the Finals are given the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy, which replaced the Walter A. Brown Trophy in 1983.
The series was initially Called the BAA Finals prior to the 1949–50 year when the Basketball Association of America (BAA) merged with the National Basketball League (NBL) to form the NBA. The contest oversaw additional name changes to NBA World Championship Series from 1950 to 1985, in addition to a short stint as the Showdown, before settling NBA Finals in 1986. [1] The NBA Finals was initially ordered at a two –2–1–1–1 format. Back in 1985, to ease the quantity of cross-country journey, it had been changed to a 2–3–2 structure, where the first two and final two matches of the series have been played at the stadium of the team who earned home-court benefit by having the better record during the regular season. In 2014, the 2–2–1–1–1 format was revived. The first two games are played the higher-seeded team’s home, the subsequent two at the house of the lower-seeded team, along with the rest three are played at each team’s home arena alternately. [2] A total of 19 franchises have won the NBA Finals, with the Toronto Raptors winning in 2019. The Boston Celtics hold the record for the many victories, having won the contest 17 times, as well as the most consecutive titles, winning 8 times from 1959 to 1966. The Los Angeles Lakers have contested the NBA Finals the many times, with 31 appearances. The Eastern Conference has provided the many winners, with 38 wins from 10 franchises; the Western Convention has 32, from 9 franchises.

Read more: